Coverbild The Hugo Boss Prize 2002
The Hugo Boss Prize 2002
€ 19.80
VAT included. Shipping costs will be calculated at checkout
Edited by: Eine Publikation des Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York
Foreword: Bruno Sälzer
Introduction: Susan Cross
Texts by: Francesco Bonami, Yuko Hasegawa, Jörg Heiser, Nico Israel, James Rondeau, Maria-Christina Villasenor
May 2002 , 110 Pages , 0 Ills.
343mm x 269mm
ISBN: 978-3-7757-1233-0
Press download
The Hugo Boss Prize, established in 1996 with a prize money of $50,000, this year will once again be awarded in cooperation with the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. The award goes to artists whose oeuvre makes a significant contribution to contemporary art. The first prize in 1996 went to the American artist Matthew Barney, the second to the Scotsman Douglas Gordon. In 2000, it was the Slovenian artists Marjetica Potrc who was honoured for her oeuvre. This year, the seven members of a jury consisting of renowned museum directors, curators and critics were asked to suggest up to seven artists each, and from these, six artists were nominated: the Belgian artist Francis Alÿs, Olafur Eliasson from Denmark, the Japanese artist Kazuhiko Hachiya, the Frenchman Pierre Huyghe, the Korean Koo Jeong-a and the Albanian-born artist Anri Sala. The announcement of the winner will take place at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in fall of 2002 and will include a solo exhibition for the respective artists at the museum at the beginning of 2003. The book, predominantly with colour illustrations, takes a close look at the works of the finalists.
Recommendations for you