Coverbild Ulrike Flaig
Ulrike Flaig
SOUNDCHECK - Installationen
€ 12.27
VAT included. Shipping costs will be calculated at checkout
Texts by: Beat Wyss, Christoph Tannert, Renate Wiehager
Edited by: Gesellschaft der Freunde Junger Kunst Baden-Baden e.V., Renate Wiehager, Galerie der Stadt Esslingen, Bahnwärterhaus
Graphic Design: Margarethe Hausstätter
German, English
May 2000 , 96 Pages , 0 Ills.
200mm x 154mm
ISBN: 978-3-7757-9026-0
Press download
In her work complex SOUNDCHECK, Ulrike Flaig presents the viewer with an artist's field of investigation. Her installations feature floodlights, vodka glasses, rifle dummies, nylon stockings, light beams, shadowgraphs, sounds and letters. Some of her works look like rough-hewn shacks or makeshift shelters, others resemble delicate transitory visions dissolving before the viewer's eyes. Change itself, the very state of transition and movement, is an ever recurring theme in Ulrike Flaig's experimental groupings. In these, drawing, photography, film, installation and sound production are an equally valid means to an end. It's where things breathe, flow, blink, reflect, where pictures and sounds are made, that the not-yet-determined may revel in its state of suspense. This deliberate, non-finite quality of Ulrike Flaig's installations serves to generate an evocative pictorial narrative guiding the viewer to the artist's aesthetic vision.
Recommendations for you